PUBLIC IMAGE, LTD. (PiL) LIVE AT THE WILLIAMSBURG HALL OF MUSIC 10/09/2012

PUBLIC IMAGE, LTD. (PiL)

LIVE AT THE WILLIAMSBURG HALL OF MUSIC

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK OCTOBER 9, 2012

This is by far one of the most brilliant, prolific and extremely underrated acts (luckily for me so I don’t have to share them with too many morons) of all time.

What this man did with his opportunity for fame and notoriety should be celebrated all over the world in every country and taught to children in schools. Where so many might just be happy to have the limelight for a moment and play the buffoon, John Lydon so carefully researched and mapped out where he wanted to go musically, that somehow the result of his early endeavor to destroy rock and roll has magically produced one of the most original, honest and brilliant bands of all time. When you see them live the music is so intense that I always end up feeling like I’m on some type of crazy journey that involves a great deal of swimming, submerging and resurfacing, lol – no, I’m not on drugs but I know how good music is supposed to make you feel and I certainly feel that way when I hear PiL’s music live. They create these canvases filled with layers of sound wrapped in a monotonous, sick reggae or house influenced bassline – This music speaks to me like no other. And when I finally tell myself to stop dancing and take a minute to listen to lyrics of songs I don’t know, I’m always blown away by how much Lydon gives to you emotionally. The man is so honest and more importantly informative about what he chooses to write about – I never feel like my personal space is invaded by someone’s idiotic preachy ego, this man treats me with respect, what I do with the information given is my business.
That being said, how anyone tolerates the morons in Sex Pistols T-shirts screaming, “…JOHNNNAYYYYYYY!!! JOHNNNAAAYYY ROTTENNNN!!” throughout the night is beyond me. Does anyone really listen to anything this man says ever? I mean REALLY. You’re ALMOST SIXTY YEARS OLD do you STILL need to wear your Ramones leather jacket or “Punk Rock uniform” with your tired ‘Social Distortion’ patch on the jacket so everyone knows how ‘cool’ and integral to the New York punk scene you are? Please spare us. Nobody fucking cares about you except me and I’m just annoyed that after all these years you idiots are still  MISSING THE POINT. I hate punks. The punks ruined punk if you ask me. It’s so funny these days because all the kids I see look so authentic but then I realize they all bought their punk outfit off a mannequin at the shopping mall or that Yellow Rat Bastard store. Not the point.

I’m alwaysannoyed by concert goers or bullshit hipsters anyway. I don’t understand how every single person on earth besides myself and my wife will only respond or dance or enjoy songs that they know. This whole stupid generation of kids is filled with the “if I don’t know the song I can’t dance to it” ideology which is terribly sad. Personally I wouldn’t go to a show of an artist who I only liked one fucking song they did. Someone dragged me to a Yes concert once “…to prove their brillianceto me once and for all, ha ha – even bought me a ticket – I thought I was going to kill myself it was so awful, and all I did was ruin the time of their real fans because I was miserable and kept laughing at all the men in tights around me with knee-hi boots with leather fringe hanging from the side. I mean at any moment I expected fucking Unicorns to come galloping through Radio City. I learned a valuable lesson that night, so do me a favor next time. If I’m going to have to be distracted by your cell phone light out of the corner of my eye all night while you sulk and wait for John ‘Rotten’ to play the ‘Public Image theme’ or ‘Seattle’ while the band is playing their hearts out for you do me a favor just stay home next time. I don’t need you invading my concert moment. Save it for when you go see Coldplay or some other group that SUCKS ASS.

PiL Official Website

Favorite moment: The entire show
Opening act(s): NONE, thank goodness

PUBLIC IMAGE LIMITED 10/9/12 SETLIST
This Is Not a Love Song
Deeper Water
Albatross
One Drop
Flowers of Romance
Disappointed
Warrior
USLS 1
Reggie Song
Death Disco
Bags/Chant
Religion

ENCORE
Out of The Woods
Rise
Open Up (Leftfield cover)

10/13/2012 FOLLOW UP: SO EXCITED! PiL posted my review of the show on their official website! I’m so honored. You can read it here: PiL Official | Lollipop Mob Reports | Public Image Ltd.

PiL frontman John Lydon meets DJ/Music Producer Saam Ishi at J & R Music World 10-13-12

Prior to that, Saam got to meet our hero John Lydon at J & R Music World (before the show at the Hammerstein Ballroom) and played him my video message which was apparently a first for him from a fan, and after listening to my brief message he told Saam, “…Exactly. Very well put. Why isn’t he here? Is he in PRISON?” LMFAO!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PiL SITE BANNER

 

2 thoughts on “PUBLIC IMAGE, LTD. (PiL) LIVE AT THE WILLIAMSBURG HALL OF MUSIC 10/09/2012

  1. EXACTLY! And STOP taking SO many pictures and enjoy the effing show. Thank you SO MUCH for bringing this band and MANY, MANY other amazing music to my life. Because of YOU I am ME and I want to thank you for making my life worth living. XOXO

  2. Pingback: Public Image Ltd played Music Hall of Williamsburg, play Hammerstein this weekend (pics/setlist) « stream

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,948 other followers

